National flag of Sri Lanka

The official name of Sri Lanka (LKA) is Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka and consists of Maroon, gold, green and orange flag colors. The capital city of Sri Lanka is Colombo. Sri Lanka has the total estimated population as of 2020 is 20,277,597 or 20.3 M based on 10 states, 15 cities. The independence day is celebrated on February 4, 1948 and the founder of Sri Lanka is Don Stephen Senanayake.



About Sri Lanka Flag

Sri Lanka flag
Sri Lanka Flag Colors   Maroon
Meaning of Sri Lanka flag colors

The Sri Lankan flag is quite unique and has a lot of meaning attached to it: Red: nothing mentioned. Green: Muslims residing in Sri Lanka. Orange: Hindus in the country. Gold: The lion represents bravery and the 4 ‘bo’ leaves denote the 4 concepts of Buddhism. Golden borders mean the unity of different communities.

Proportion 1:2
Proportion (decimals) 2.0
Flag Adoption Date May 22, 1972

Download Sri Lanka Flag

Resize the Sri Lanka's flag picture in any size and format
To maintain the country's flag image quality, it is recommended to resize with "Maintain aspect ratio"

Provinces/States (10)

Cities (15)

Airports (34)

  • Kondavattavana Tank Seaplane Base
  • Mattala Rajapaksa International Airport
  • Mawella Lagoon Seaplane Base
  • View all airports >>
Neighboring Countries of Sri Lanka